How Does Your Garden Grow?

List of botanical gardens in Australia

List of botanical gardens in Australia (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

April showers bring May flowers.  April is National Gardening Month.  This is no April’s Fools!  For all you green thumbs, this post is for you.

I saw my first iGrow bucket up close, back in January of this year.  I’d seen them on T.V. and in magazines but to see one up close and find out how easy it is to grow food, was so exciting for me.  I have to confess that I’m not much of a gardener, I use to joke that I could kill a plant in less than a week.  I would buy fresh flowers from the grocery store and put them in a vase.  I followed the directions on the little food packet they come with but sure enough a week later they would be bent over the side of the vase.  I’ve since learned that flowers just don’t live that long outside of the ground, they need the soil to survive.  And as nature would have we need gardens to survive.

I have dreams of one day having my own raised vegetable garden and a few fruit trees in back of my dream home.  In the meantime, I visit community gardens and learn as much as I can about gardening.  I’ve found shopping at a small independent farm or farmer’s market yields fresher, cheaper produce than even the best health food stores can provide.  Buying local also helps keep the local farms going and so it’s a win-win situation.

What I have always found amazing is how we are created to breathe what plants offer and they are able to use what we breathe out.  The relationship between man and plant is so intimate and vital to our continued survival.  This month I encourage you all to find ways to become more in tuned with nature and spend a little time finding out where your food comes from.

The Little Things You Can Do Today

  1. Spend at least an hour outside everyday. You can walk, run, bike, or play in your garden.  Make sure to breathe deeply and soak up some sun.  
  2. Visit a community farm and get involved.  They always need volunteers to help water and harvest the crops.  They also need loyal customers to buy their produce.
  3. Plant something.  Visit your local nursery or garden center and select one plant or seedling that you can go home and plant in the ground.

Until Next Week, 

Nicole D.P. McLaughlin, PT

About Nicole McLaughlin

I am a self-published author and freelance ghostwriter and boy do I have some stories for you. I'm also an ACE certified personal trainer and I have combined my love for writing and fitness to bring you two blogs.
This entry was posted in Health and Fitness, Nutrition. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

