Healthy Skin, Healthy You

English: Successful path to a healthy body

As a personal trainer I was shocked to discover that I had been neglecting the health of one of the most important organs in the body; the skin.  I like nice smelling lotion like the next gal but I’m not into makeup and so I never really thought much about the skin on my face.  That is until I had a facial a few days ago.  I was told that I had nice healthy skin, but I must confess the only thing I ever clean my skin with is good old fashion soap and water.  I’ve always known that a healthy diet will produce healthy glowing skin.  I also now know that a skin care regime that includes natural cleansers, toner, exfoliator and lotions will help your skin perform its most important functions.

Why do We have Skin?

Our skin protects us from pathogens in the air and prevents us from losing too much water when we sweat.  The skin plays some very important roles of temperature regulation, insulation, sensation, and production of Vitamin D synthesized from sunlight.  Our skin is our first line of defense against injury and helps us to interact with the world around us.  Our skin is even water-resistant!  This is why you can shower or take a bath and not absorb water.

The Importance of Clean Skin

Our pores are the windows of our skin.  When the pores on your face become blocked by oil and dirt, bacteria can grow there and cause irritation and inflammation.  Blocked pores also make it hard for sweat to properly exit the body.  That’s why it’s important to not only take care of the skin on your face but your entire body including your scalp.   When your pores are clogged the skin has a harder time performing all of its functions.  Its like trying to drive your car with muddy windows.

Diet and Healthy Skin

As I mentioned earlier there are certain foods you can add to your diet to help improve the look, feel and elasticity of your skin.  The cardinal rule of healthy skin is to drink plenty of water.  Flushing out the system serves to flush impurities out of the body through your digestive system as well as your skin.  Here’s a list of foods that contribute to healthy skin.

  • Berries and Plums
  • Healthy Oils like those found in Salmon, Walnuts and Flaxseed Oil
  • Green Tea
  • Low-Fat Dairy Products
  • Selenium found in whole grain products

The common denominator is all these foods contain vitamins, minerals and antioxidants that protect against free radicals and promote cell growth.

The Little Things You Can Do Today

  1. Begin a healthy skin regimen by purchasing a good cleaner and moisturizer for your face and another one for your body.
  2. Add foods that promote skin health to your diet.
  3. Make an appointment to visit a dermatologist is you have any kind of skin problem.

Untill Next Time,

Nicole D.P. McLaughlin

About Nicole McLaughlin

I am a self-published author and freelance ghostwriter and boy do I have some stories for you. I'm also an ACE certified personal trainer and I have combined my love for writing and fitness to bring you two blogs.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Nutrition, Prevention and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Healthy Skin, Healthy You

  1. Pingback: Skin Care is important. | Sol Botanique

  2. Appreciate the recommendation. Will try it out.

Leave a Reply

