Is 40 the New 20?

1119980_10201656419950085_1897159015_o

Robert Lindblom Technical HS Class of 1993 Chicago, IL 2013

There is nothing like a class reunion to get you to thinking about life and health. I just attended my 20th high school reunion over the weekend. I grew up on the south side of Chicago when drive by shootings and gang violence was beginning to escalate. I was so glad to see so many of my classmates had made it. They are enjoying their careers and raising families.

What inspired me to write this post is the fact that many of them had babies in tow. They ranged in age from 2 months to two years. I’m even planning to have my first child next year at 38. More and more women are having children in their thirties and well into their forties. One of my old friends told me not to worry about it because 40 is the new 20.

I remember 20. I was very athletic,  135 lbs and a size 6. I was almost fearless and very driven. Now, I’m 37, still athletic and driven but everything else has changed. I’m now concerned about my health in a way I never thought too much about 20 years ago. As you get older, you begin to watch things like your sodium intake and cholesterol levels. Losing weight becomes almost impossible compared to how easy it was 20 years ago. As a personal trainer, I do have hope and believe that with a little work, 40 and beyond can be some of the best years of your life.

The Little Things You Can Do Today

  1. Begin to look after you health. Prioritize dropping those extra pounds and changing your eating habits today.
  2. If you’re done having children, mentor a young person. Having young people in your life will keep you engaged and force you to remain active.
  3. Create a ritual of self-care. Make sure you have plenty of Me time built into your schedule.

Until Next Week,

Nicole D. P. McLaughlin, P.T.

About Nicole McLaughlin

I am a self-published author and freelance ghostwriter and boy do I have some stories for you. I'm also an ACE certified personal trainer and I have combined my love for writing and fitness to bring you two blogs.
This entry was posted in Aging Gracefully, Health and Fitness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is 40 the New 20?

  1. Natasha says:

    Very nice post! I’m working to lost 20-25 pounds, making healthier meals and exercising on a regular basis. I’m 35. I need to conquer this aspect of my life. Congrats on the 20th class reunion!

Leave a Reply

