Is It Well With You?

imagesSaturday, September 28th is National Family Health and Fitness Day.  The entire month of September is dedicated to promoting wellness to special populations, such as children, women, and seniors. The question of wellness is one that everyone needs to answer regardless of age or gender. So I’m asking you today is everything well with you?  The only way to answer the question is to visit your health care professional and ask them to perform a diagnostic test or screenings. The following areas of concern should be first on your list.

There is deception inherent in wellness because we tend to think if I’m not in pain or experiencing any symptoms then all is well. But that is not always the case. I recently found out that I have Periodontal Disease and that it’s genetic. I knew my mother had surgery on her gums when she was in her mid thirties. But it wasn’t until I received my diagnosis that I found out that my grandmother had her all of her teeth pulled because she didn’t want to go through  surgery. I’m glad that my condition doesn’t need surgery. I can go through a series of deep laser cleanings and manage the disease with vigilant flossing.  Many of us have underlying issues that we will never know about unless we go for regular check ups and screenings.

My dentist told me, my teeth were healthy and strong but unless I improve the quality of my gums, I’ll lose all of my teeth. In the same way your bones can be strong, but if your muscles are weak, in time you’ll become immobile. It’s often the little things that become  big things when unchecked. When it comes to your wellness, an ounce of prevention is really worth a pound of cure.

The Little Things You Can Do Today

  1. Learn your family medical history
  2. Develop a daily wellness routine
  3. Make an appointment, if you’re overdue to see a doctor or dentist

Until Next Week,

Nicole D.P. McLaughlin, PT

 

About Nicole McLaughlin

I am a self-published author and freelance ghostwriter and boy do I have some stories for you. I'm also an ACE certified personal trainer and I have combined my love for writing and fitness to bring you two blogs.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Prevention and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

